The Combined Harare Residents Association (CHRA) in partnership with the Bulawayo Progressive Residents Association (BPRA) and the Zimbabwe Institute (ZI) convened a National Resident's conference on the constitution held in Bulawayo on the 28 of September 2012. The Conference was convened as part of the resolutions of the 1st National conference held in Bulawayo on the 26th of November 2011. The meeting was attended by 90 delegates from 30 Residents Associations countrywide and officially opened by His Worship, Councillor Thaba Moyo, and The Mayor of Bulawayo. The conference was also attended by COPAC representatives, Bulawayo Agenda, Action Aid and the Elected Councillors Association of Zimbabwe (ECAZ).


  1. The Conference resolved to ADOPT AND DEFEND THE COPAC DRAFT BUT called on the select committee to address the identified content gaps within the Draft constitution. The conference also tasked the Residents National Taskforce to present the identified gaps to the all-stakeholders' conference.
  2. The Conference Resolved to PARTICIPATE AS DELEGATES in the oncoming 2nd All Stakeholders Conference to be convened by COPAC. The Conference elected a National Taskforce Composed of 11 members selected from the ten provinces. The role of the National Taskforce will be to defend the resident's interests at the conference and to popularise the position of residents associations on the constitution and will be chaired by the President of the Zimbabwe United Residents Association (ZURA).
  3. The Conference REJECTED insinuations by COPAC that civic society organisations will be invited through political parties as this will compromise the independency of its members. If COPAC decides to go ahead with this position Residents Associations WILL NOT be part of the conference.
  4. To urgently present to COPAC a list of content gaps identified in the DRAFT for review. These content gaps relate to;

o     Devolution of Power

o     Creation of a Local Government Commission

o     Recognition of Residents Associations as key stakeholders with the local government sphere.

o     Funding of Local authorities

o     Power of Recall


  1. The conference demanded that COPAC designs and make public a comprehensive conference methodology that allows for stakeholders to effectively contribute and participate. Further the delegates urged COPAC to take clear and public steps to ensure the security of all delegates at the 2nd all stakeholders' conference.


  1. The conference resolved to convene provincial rallies in all the identified provinces and popularise the positions taken at this conference. The rallies will further mobilise the general citizen to participate in the oncoming referendum.


  1. The conference reaffirmed the position of CHRA and BPRA as Secretariat of the Zimbabwe United Residents Association (ZURA).


Member Institutions Present:

Combined Harare Residents Association (CHRA), Bulawayo Progressive Residents Association (BPRA), Gweru Residents and Ratepayers Association (GRA), Gwanda Residents Association (GRA), Victoria Falls Combined Residents and Ratepayers Association (VICAFORA), Kariba Residents Association (KRA), Kwekwe Residents Association (KURA), Kadoma Residents Association (KRA), Mutare Resident and Ratepayers Association (MURA), Chiredzi Residents Association (CRA), Masvingo United Residents Association (MURRA), Buhera Residents Association (BRA), Bindura Residents Association (BURA), Mutoko Residents Association (MRA),Chitungwiza Progressive Residents Association (CHIPRA), Chitungwiza Residents Association (CHIRA), Mvurwi Residents Association (MRUA), Epworth Residents Representatives, Beitbridge Residents Association.


Contact US

#329 Samora Machel Avenue

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

+263 772 887 506 ,
+263 772 407 742
+263 772 471 669